This is always one of the most fun and interesting times of the year for me. Reading through the voting forms is always a funny experience, and captures the melancholy/terrace humour of being a Saints fan perfectly.

Again, the response has been great, so thank you to everybody who took the time, especially after a torrid season.

Everyone associated with Saints covets one of these precious trophies*:-

And now we find out who has go their hands on one!

Here are YOUR winners…

Player of the Year

This was calculated like so:- Each player got 2 points for a vote as winner and one point for a vote as runner up. Here are all those that received votes and their points percentage.

Scored points:- Nobody, Sam McQueen, Mario Lemina, Olufela Olomola. Jan Bednerak, Shane Long, Cedric, Manolo Gabbiadini, Wesley Hoedt, Les Reed, Fraser Forster, Mauricio Pellegrino, U15’s kid & The Kitman (<1%), Oriol Romeu, Sofiane Boufal & Jeremy Pied (1%), Ryan Bertrand, Matt Targett, Charlie Austin & Jack Stephens (2%), James Ward-Prowse (5%), Dusan Tadic (6%)

3rd Place:- Maya Yoshida (7%)

2nd Place:- Pierre Emile Høijbjerg (18%)

And the winner is…..with a dominant 46% of the points with his impressive displays in the run in of the season….

Most Improved Player

Received Votes:- Nathan Redmond & Fraser Forster (1%), Matt Targett & Maya Yoshida (3%), James Ward-Prowse (5%), Jack Stephens (8%)

3rd Place:- Alex McCarthy (15%)

2nd Place:- Jan Bednarek (17%)

And the winner is…..

Young Player of the Year

Received Votes:- Enzo Robise, Stuart Taylor, Did we play any kids?, James Ward-Prowse, Sam McQueen & Jake Vokins (2%), Michael Obafemi (4%), Matt Targett (5%),  Pierre Emile Høijbjerg (8%)

3rd Place:- Jan Bednarek (15%)

2nd Place:- Jack Stephens (21%)

And the winner is….

Unsung Hero

Received Votes:- Manolo Gabbiadini, David in Sweden, Whoever got rid of ‘My Way’, Jack Stephens, Jeremy Pied & Mauricio Pellegrino (1%), Nathan Redmond, Alex McCarthy, Dusan Tadic, Forbsey & Kelvin Davis (3%), Stuart Taylor, Oriol Romeu, James Ward-Prowse, Jan Bednarek, Ryan Bertrand & Shane Long (4%), The Fans (7%)

3rd Place:- Cedric (9%)

2nd Place:- Pierre Emile Høijbjerg (14%)

And the winner is…..

Signing of the Season

Received Votes:- Sure for Men (2%), Wesley Hoedt, Guido Carrillo & All shit (3%), Quincy Promes (10%)

3rd Place:- Jan Bednarek (12%)

2nd Place:- Mark Hughes (30%)

And the winner is…..

Performance of the Season (Team or Individual)

Received Votes:- Gabbiadini v Swans (A), Boufal v WBA (H), van Dijk v Leicester (H), Team v Fulham (A), Team 1st 60 v Chelsea (H), Long v Swans (A) & Media Team Taylor Announcement (1%), McCarthy v Bournemouth (H) & Team v Bournemouth (H) (7%), Lemina v Palace (A) (10%)

3rd Place:- Tadic v Bournemouth (H) (12%)

2nd Place:- Team v Everton (H) (14%)

And the winner is…….Team v Swansea (A)

Goal of the Season

Received Votes:- Nathan Redmond & We scored? (1%), Boufal v West Ham (3%), Yoshida v Stoke (4%)

3rd Place:- Lemina v WBA (9%)

2nd Place:- Gabbiadini v Swansea (17%)

And the winner is…..for that ridiculous solo run and finish v WBA….

Comedy Moment sponsored by Marriott Hotels

Received Votes:- Bournemouth getting stage fright at St. Mary’s. Again., Pompey Owner publicly praising Gareth Bale’s South Coast development, Lemina’s air shot, Mark Hughes saying how nice the stay in Cardiff was, Ralph Krueger’s five pledges, Champion’s League final schadenfreude, Carrillo calling Pellegrino ‘The Master’, Summer Scouse meltdown over van Dijk, Liverpool’s public apology, Scoring four against Everton, Alonso’s challenge on Long, Mark Hughes marching the team to the Liberty, WBA Taxi chants, Swansea Ball Boy, There were three teams worse than us, Tadic striptease, Ralph Krueger saying Pellegrino is the perfect coach, Boufal’s sulk & Austin accepting McCarthy’s man of the match award (1%), Ralph Krueger’s interviews, Tadic’s celebration at 5-2 down, All the injury time goals conceded, The Watford handball & Puel beating us 4-1 (2%), Hoedt’s defending, Pellegrino’s claim about playing attacking football, Bertrand time wasting v Bournemouth & Signing Carrillo (4%), WBA defending v Boufal (7%)

3rd Place:- Hiring Pellegrino (8%)

2nd Place:- Swansea’s failed sabotage attempts (13%)

And the winner is….Pierre Emile Høijbjerg kicking Jack Stephens in the groin during his goal celebration at Wigan!

Best Opposition Team

Received Voted:- West Ham, Referees & Southampton A (2%), Watford (3%), Leicester (4%), Chelsea (7%)

3rd Place:- Spurs (11%)

2nd Place (becoming a habit):- Liverpool (22%)

And the winners are…..The Champions.

Best Opposition Player

Received Votes:- John Moss, David de Gea, N’Golo Kante, Kenedy, Officials, Jack Cork & Mike Dean (1%), Raheem Sterling (3%), Leroy Sane, Riyad Mahrez & Harry Kane (4%), Eden Hazard (12%)

3rd Place:- Mo Salah (17%)

2nd Place:- Kevin de Bruyne (20%)

And the winner is…..

Best Opposition Fans

Received Votes:- Swansea & Liverpool (1%), Watford, WBA, Chelsea & Newcastle (3%), Wigan & Burnley (5%), Bournemouth (7%), Manchester United & Manchester City (8%)

3rd Place:- Leicester City (12%)

2nd Place:- Crystal Palace (16%)

And the winners are……Huddersfield Town!

Best Saints Related Tweeter

Received Votes:- Official Club Account, Shirley Mush, Nobody, Yershida, Lucy Highnett, TalkSaints, Swansea, ArchersRoadEnd, OilySailor, chrs00, Max Sopel, Rauschgiftsucht, benstanners, Liam Coward, Marriott Hotels, Billy Fingers (1%), DavidC00k, Tadic, Sam Dobson, Luke Osman, Simon Peach & SFC_Dellivery (3%) SaintsinFrance & crstig (6%)

3rd Place:- @mattletiss7 (12%)

2nd Place:- @AdamBlackmore (14%)

And the winner is……@L1minus10

Usually that would be the end of the Ali’s, but I realised today that i had forgotten to award the Ali Dia services to Southampton Award this year to mark the site’s 8th birthday. So to that end here is your winner (explanations not really necessary):-

The 2018 Ali Dia Services to Southampton Award goes to……

Gareth Bale.

So that concludes this season’s Ali’s! Congratulations and thanks to everyone who voted and massive congratulations to all the winners!.A big thank you to Alistair Downs for the Photoshop wizardry! Keep the faith!

For previous years awards results see here:-


*- There is no actual physical trophy. Soz.


Leave a Reply

Your e-mail address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.